My Grandad should have been a Copywriter….

I fondly remember as a child some of the tales my Grandad used to tell me. He was a great story teller and I would listen intently to his adventures of the past. It may have been about struggling to bring up my old man in the East end or, if I was lucky, he would go into Uncle Albert mode (Only Fools and Horses) and start of with the classic line “During the war….”.

A master raconteur he certainly was and these skills run parallel with creating great copy.

Copy has to be (Obviously) interesting, engaging and have a purpose. But, more than this, it has to be natural – from your heart and soul. Cliched, I know, but it’s true. The best way to keep people entertained and absorbed is to be yourself.

Develop your own writing style, but let it grow organically, let it be you. I really believe that this is the only way to grip your audience in the manner you need to be a successful Copywriter.

Leave a Reply

